So homesick for my Highlands!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So homesick for my Highlands!

It has been many years since I returned to the country of my birth, but for the tragedy of a family member. I am in my fifties (widowed), and 'Still Going Strong', as the whisky says:-))...
    I am a writer of Historic Fiction set in the Highlands of Scotland (of course!)...but am finally planning a trip back to Scotland this May...(I live in Denver, Colorado). My primary focus will be in Strathdon, Aberdeenshire where I lived for many years, and raised my son and daughter, David and Yvonne.....so, if there are some fellow Scots out there who would be interested in communicating, I would be delighted....also my latest novel is about The Highland Clearances ...circa 1780's, and how those dastardly English Landlords shipped us off to the Colonies as slaves, and destroyed our whole Clan System after the '45.......etc., etc. I am very passionate about my heritage - as if you couldn't tell! Seriously, I would so love to hear from anyone who has done research of this particular era. At no other time in history have the people of the Highlands suffered so miserably at the hands of the English, when the crofters were burned out of their homes and driven off their land to make way for sheep runs and deer forests..
    Thank you my fellow humans for taking the time to hear my voice....Life has changed here in U.S.A. since Sept. 11th........and I do a lot of travel with the Company I represent..... but it is time for me to touch base with my Scottish Homeland and my spirit...
    Lady Braveheart.
    Lady Braveheart