Anyone in Aberdeen?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone in Aberdeen?

My great-grandfather, Hugh Alexander, was a carpenter there before emigrating to America in the early 1900's. I am also a carpenter, and the last of the line. I am not looking for genealogical research, just would like to chat with people in "the old country" that I have heard about since I was young! Yes - the pipes always make my blood move!
    Any questions I can answer about current conditions here in New York State, will be answered. Thank you for your interest!
    Ralph Alexander

Hi Ralph

Welcome to the boards !!

I am not in Aberdeen but my parents were born there and moved
    to England the year before I was born.

I go back there every year and really enjoy it.

Kanga is in Aberdeen but haven't seen her posting lately.

Comment

Hello Aable! I live about 35 miles west of Aberdeen, although I am currently about 4500 miles south of there!

My mother (maiden name Margaret Alexander) was born and raised just south of Aberdeen, in Portlethen. Her father, John Bruce Alexander was born near Oldmeldrum in 1899.

I know you don't want genealogical information, but I thought I'd just slip that in, cousin!

So, what would you like to know about Aberdeen & environs? I'll be happy to correspond with you as time allows.

Comment

Thank you.....

...Babz and Neil for your responses. I am replying here because I cannot get the email icon below your names to give me anything but the "blue screen of death"! A good Celtic color,it is, and I've been told that Bill Gates is of Scottish descent, but I still don't much like him.