Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings from Kentucky, USA

Hey, everyone!

I'm thrilled to have discovered this fantastic website and community. You all seem so welcoming and nice.

I'm a writer and am currently working on two novels right now. One is demanding a bit more urgency, which has forced me to push the other to the side . . . for now.

Anyway, it works out perfectly because I need to do quite a bit of research for that particular novel. Scottish culture (modern day) and dialect/slang, etc. are among some of that necessary research. So, in short, that's why I'm here. I wish I could simply live there and do my research that way (it sure would be even more enjoyable and exciting), but I hope to achieve enough understanding communicating with a few of you on here.

Thanks for having me. I look forward to getting to know some of you.

hi and welcome

there are loads of dialects and a variety of slang words used in scotland.

did you have a particular area in mind?

Comment

Hi Jen and welcome

Comment

Hi Mikey. Thank you.

Comment

Hi Tig,

Thank you so much for the reply and welcome.
          The character will be from Glasgow, but living in Utah, US. I found a wonderful website that helps with dialect, but I'd love to learn common phrases, references, common foods, traditions, and even how interactions typically are between complete strangers. Anything would help, really, and I greatly appreciate you taking the time to reply.

Also, If there's ever anything I may be able to help with, ask away.

Comment

Why did you want your character to be from Glasgow?

Comment

Hi Mikey