Rolling your R's

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rolling your R's

In the last year I have discovered that I have an affinity for everything Scottish...which started with my favorite Scottish singer..Alex Beaton. My ancestry goes back to Anglo-Saxon people (Tibbits plus others). I'm hoping I have some Scot in me. I am a musician and learning Scot songs, but my gaelic is poor and I'm trying to learn how to speak like a Scot. I've checked the board and will follow some of the suggestions. I listen to Alex's music constantly to hear the language. What I'm having the hardest time with is rolling my r's. I don't get it! I would appreciate advice as to how to do it...like, where does the tongue go..etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance
    Arizona Don
    http://www.dastcom.com

Twelve people viewed your thread ahead of me, and twelve people did not have the heart to tell you this:

Please don't even try it. You will only end up looking a prat (a bit like Alex Beaton himself).

Comment

Whoops.
      I must be naive about this discussion board. The Scot dialect I hear, and love to hear, is a variation of English..but with the beautiful Scottish ring. This must be different than Gaelic (which I'm sure also is melodic) that this board is about. Sorry.
      By the way, this colonist doesn't know what a prat is..but, it doesn't sound like something I want to be. I've met Alex a number of times and if he's a prat, he's a very nice prat...and he has a wonderful voice and is a master on the guitar...does great work on songs like 'Bonnie Dundee' (which I have also recorded) and many others.
      Any suggestions/web sites about the Scot language I'm interested in would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for letting me know I'm barking up the wrong board...and warning me that my lack of knowledge about this subject would lead to me being looked on as being a prat. Thaht suends bloody bahd...achhh!

Comment