Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning Scottish Gaelic

Hi Everyone!

For those of us of Scottish decent who wish to learn the language of our ancestors, I found something that might help. There is a store in New Hampshire that sells a product called "Learning Scottish Gaelic in three Months". It has books and tapes. It's just basic conversational Gaelic. You can visit them on the net at
    www.scottishlion.com

If you have a problem you can e-mail me at
    michele.grayhickinbotham@scotland.com

Best of Luck
    Michele
    celticprincess

Hi Michele, a great idea. My grandmother spoke Gaelic and I learned basic Gaelic at university, so anything which helps and promotes this beautiful language is fantastic- it sounds so much better than English.
    bob.

Comment

Hi Bob!

I have just started listening to the tapes. And it is a beautiful language. I am not very good at languages but I will give it my best effort. I hope that the language does not get lost. It's a very important part of the heritage of all of those of Scottish decent.

Michele
      celticprincess

Comment

Hi Michele I hope you are getting on well with the tapes. When I was learning the language I did not find it too hard to pick up certain words and phrases, but the problems came when trying to have a conversation with a native speaker-they speak too fast, or that was what I thought!!! Gaelic is starting to become more popular again in Scotland and hopefully this will continue. I have opened a new topic about Northern Ireland in the politics forum if you are interested in excanging opinions.
        good luck with the Gaelic, Feasgair math
        bob.

Comment

Bob,

I had the same problem when I was learning French. Getting around native speakers, and it is nothing like what you have learned. I guess they do to there language what we in the states do to English. I haven't gotten to the poltical board yet but I will. Northern Ireland is one of my favorite topics.

Michele