Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stevenson's "nicht"

Hi to you all!
    I'm currently trying to learn a bit of Scottish, and the written part is not so hard at the moment, but I would need some help with the pronunciation of some sounds.

I'm reading Stevenson's "Thrawn Janet" and I was wondering of how "nicht" is pronunciated: I mean, does "ch" sound like the German in "ich", or maybe like the German "ch" in "Nacht"? Does the "i" sound like in the English "night"?

thank you sooo much from an absolute beginner

"ich", or maybe like the German "ch" in "Nacht"? Does the "i" sound like in the English "night"?

The "i" is the sound you'll get in "sit" or "pit".

I think that your question confused me at first, because when I learned German, I was taught to use the same "ch" sound for both "ich" and "nacht". However, I *think* (although I stand to be corrected) that it's a regional thing in German.

To describe this without an audible example is difficult. However, you can approximate this sound by trying to make a heavy "H" nearer the back of your throat.
    "ni-hhh-t."

It's similar to the sound you will hear in "Loch", however because the vowel sound preceding it is further forward, it tends not be quite so heavy. (Although, no doubt someone will have a differing view)

I'll hunt around and see if I can find an example for you to listen to...

Comment

great!

Thank you so much!

I suppose I can now pronunciate it decently at least!

As for German, I was taught that the sound from ich to Nacht is a wee different: in "Nacht" you use the back part o the tongue, in "ich" the sound is less guttural and depends on the forward part o the tongue: it's more similar to a "sshhh" sound.

Thanks again

Comment

http://www.bbc.co.uk/scotland/histor...y/haggis.shtml

If you click the "Listen" link - you'll need RealPlayer - you should be able to hear the poem being recited. (I hope - I can't listen to it as I'm at work at present)