Deaf culture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deaf culture

I hope this isn't in the wrong place, but I am very curious. I am an American Sign Language student and hope to travel to Scotland one day. How does the Deaf community interact with the hearing community?

Do the Deaf use British Sign Language or has someone developed a Scottish version of it? What is required of interpreters?

The deaf community does not interact enough with the hearing community really.

There is however a long history of signing etc in Scotland, and indeed Alexander Graham Bell's father pioneered methods for helping them.

British Sign Language is used, but there are indeed Scottish versions of it. I think for example, that Scots use slightly different signs for "deaf" and "hearing" than southern English.

(Two can play at George Orwell quotes)
    "In this country I don’t think it is enough realized—I myself had no idea of it until a few years ago—that Scotland has a case against England."

Comment

Thanks for responding! Where could I get more information about the Deaf in Scotland?

Comment

You could try the BDA (British Deaf Association) in Scotland.

http://www.britishdeafassociation.or...?page=Scotland

http://www.ssc.mhie.ac.uk/VPages/F2/V2861.htm

Comment

This isn't much use to you but...

1) The number of "deaf" here has been reduced greatly by hearing aids, which turn the partially hearing into more integrated members of mainstream society. This is a good and a bad thing. Good because it gives them a broader life, and bad, because the deaf community has its own culture and language, and this gets impinged on...

2) A number of taster courses have been run in community centres round the country. I did one myself. These are fine for giving you a basic grounding, but to actually go further costs horrendous amounts of money, and is difficult to justify for many people, unless they have personal reasons to.