Trying to gain some insight from native Scots

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to gain some insight from native Scots

Well I happened upon this message board by default but it could'nt have been at a more appropriate time. I'm an American college student and I'm writing a paper on William Wallace and how he could have possibly facilitated Scotland's national identity. It would be a great opportunity to speak with some Scottish people so if anyone has comments on how Wallace is perceived in Scotland I'd appreciate it.

Wallace is perceived as a national hero by almost all Scots but they tend to have an idealised image of him as a man motivated by patriotic fervour leading a willing army of followers against English tyranny.In fact he claimed to be fighting primarily to re-establish the rightful King,John Balliol to the Scots throne which placed him at odds with Robert the Bruce and many other Scottish nobles.That his followers may not have always been so willing to fight is shown by the fact that he ordered a gallows to be erected in every Scottish town just to remind people where their true loyalties lay.He was also motivated by a personal grievance against the English who had murdered his wife.He was brutal and ruthless and the very man that the country needed when threatened by Edward I and he laid the foundations for Scotland's independence which was finally achieved by Robert the Bruce.

Comment

Originally posted by one_american
      Well I happened upon this message board by default but it could'nt have been at a more appropriate time. I'm an American college student and I'm writing a paper on William Wallace and how he could have possibly facilitated Scotland's national identity. It would be a great opportunity to speak with some Scottish people so if anyone has comments on how Wallace is perceived in Scotland I'd appreciate it.