Go Back   Scotland Discussion Forum > Travel and Tourism > Travel

Notices

Need travel tips

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25th June 2000, 19:36

Talking

Hi everyone!

It's the "green travler" again. I need some more advice on what to bring with me on my upcoming trip in September. I need to know what type of clothing to bring, how much for 15 days, tipping policies, important papers I need to bring besides a passport, things like that. Also, any information on flying such as checking in, do's and don't, etc. will help too. I am really new to traveling (can't you tell :-)) and any advice will help a lot.
Thanks for taking care of a "newbie"!
Old 25th June 2000, 22:25
Neil_Caple

Talking

Oh boy! Here's one for Willy to get his teeth into...

September weather is quite unpredictable. We can have some lovely sunny days and chilly, sometimes frosty nights. Better get Willy to advise on wardrobe, but a couple of light sweaters would be advisable. And a raincoat!

It's always a good idea to have a photocopy of your passport, in case you lose the original. Check in at least an hour before departure. Do not pack electrical items in your check-in luggage or they'll think it's a bomb. It's not worth bringing electrical items anyway as the Voltage is different. You can normally only check in 2 bags and carry on one smallish one. Carry everything you are likely to need on the flight in the carry-on bag, and I'd advise a change of underwear and a toothbrush in case your checked-in luggage gets lost. That'll do for a start.

Oh. Tipping is not as rigid as in the US. Only tip for good service, and 10% to 15% is fine.

------------------
The man o' independent mind,
He looks an' laughs at a' that.
Old 25th June 2000, 23:12
Neil_Caple

Thumbs up

And never check in anything you can't afford to lose.

------------------
Old 26th June 2000, 00:08

Talking

Hi Annie!

LOL@Neil! Good avice as always, Neil!