Go Back   Scotland Discussion Forum > Travel and Tourism > Moving

Notices

American trying desperately to move to Scotland!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 8th June 2015, 22:27

American trying desperately to move to Scotland!

I have read a few of these threads and hoping mine goes a bit better So here's my story in nut shell. I am 31 single looking to move back to UK specifically Scotland for good. I lived in Newcastle for 2 years for University and my degree is from there. I stupidly came back to US for a boy, and regret it 150%

I work in the travel industry for the last 8 years, I custom designed trips through the UK and Ireland for years loved every minute of it. Hoping to possibly get transferred back abroad but sadly the companies I worked for were privately owned and did not have the money to do so. I recently took up a job with Marriott Corporate with the hopes since they are a huge company that will hopefully be able to get sponsored and move back.

I love Scotland, always felt I was born in the wrong country haha! The weather takes some getting use to but overall I hate how bad our winters are here so nice change. But the biggest reason for me wanting to move is just the quality of life its less superficial and materialistic to the US. I have always dreamed of raising a family there with cross cultured children just a different way of life. I don't hate the US it just doesn't fit who I am, I am a traveler at heart and feel like its more excepted over there , you guys have it right with 4-6 wks of vacation a year we are lucky to even get 10 days here. People work way too hard here and never know how to break that.