Go Back   Scotland Discussion Forum > Travel and Tourism > Moving

Notices

Beloved Scotland

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21st December 2014, 18:03

Beloved Scotland

Hi,
I feel very glad whenever I communicate with Scottish people. I am from Greece. I have studied in Glasgow Information Technology in 1990 and worked for almost a year in an Computer Company in Glasgow. My staying in Scotland was one of the most woderful period in my life. Me and my wife have visited a lot of time Scotland and she is also impressed by the coyntry and Scottish people. We have not visited the country for over ten yaers.

We are now considering of relocating in Glasgow or Ediburgh. We have a budget for supporting our staying for a year and there is also a monthly income that can support a part of the monthly expenses. Concerning qualifications for inquiring a job I have 14 years working experience in IT Programming and Analysis and 7 years as Area Manager and I speak English,Italian French and of course my native Greek language.

What concerns me more and worries me is my age of 52.
1) Is there any age discrimination in Scottish market and employers? And I mean in reality, not what is referred in job ads.
2) Is there any chance to find a job, sending CV to recruiters, if I am not current resident of UK?

I would deeply appreciate if somebody could answered these questions.

Thank you in advance,

Stamatis.
Old 22nd December 2014, 09:10

Hi Stamatis

Re your question "Is there any chance to find a job, sending CV to recruiters, if I am not current resident of UK?"

I do not have an answer but suggest you register with an agency and ask their advice. Interviews, both with agencies and potential employers can be done on skype (I've just done one for an Australian agency). Google Scottish Recruitment Agencies - Agency Central. Then add your info for a search and it will come up with all the Scottish agencies that deal will IT recruitment.