Go Back   Scotland Discussion Forum > Travel and Tourism > Moving

Notices

Scottish Immigrants and Their Descendants

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 9th August 2013, 18:20

Scottish Immigrants and Their Descendants

Hi,

I wasn't sure where to post this, but I figured this forum might be a good place to start.

I am an author doing research for a book I'm writing, and I would like to ask a a question of those born in Scotland.

We all know that many Scots immigrated to Canada, Australia, New Zealand and even to the USA in the 1800's and in my case, a grandfather who came to New Zealand in 1920. I have read many posts on other forums relating to Scotland, on YouTube, and even a post on this site regarding the descendants of immigrants, and there seems to be an underlying feeling of animosity toward us. In particular, some of the comments I have read refer to us as 'Outlanders', foreign which is correct as we weren't born in Scotland, some state they we aren't welcome in Scotland on the same level as those born there, that we can't possibly have any national pride in Scotland and that we are using our claim to ancestral heritage to move into Scotland and take jobs and housing etc. Some comments I have read I simply can't repeat for they were quite ugly and hateful.

I'm not sure if this the general consensus of all Scottish nationals or just a minority who are fiercely protective and proud of their native land. My question is, how do those of you born in Scotland, really feel about us, the descendents?

Cheers
Valmai
Old 9th August 2013, 23:46

As a Scot, I say... Visit us and feel welcome.

However when foreigners try to be more Scottish than us natives? That really gets mah goat, ken?
Old 10th August 2013, 02:20

as a scot id say every one is more than welcome to visit, stay, live regardless of how Scottish you think you may or not be.

ive never heard of any issue with any one calling anyone else "descendants".