Go Back   Scotland Discussion Forum > Culture > Cuisine

Notices

research for an upcoming scottish theme wedding

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19th March 2001, 19:11

Question

i am a personal chef who specializes in wedding catering. i am in search of input into a true scottish wedding. i have scoured the shelves of book stores here in the states but would like to here from brides ,grooms and the scottish elders of wedding memories. thankyou ahead of time for your help. could use as many recipes , idas that you can muster.
Old 19th March 2001, 20:01

Smile

Babz , your help is needed !!
Old 20th March 2001, 07:14

I was married in Scotland in a very small (family only) registry office ceremony followed by a meal & small reception at Rangers Football Club.
Since it was family-only, we went the traditional route on the wedding cake: It was a fruit cake with a layer of marzipan and hard icing to keep the cake moist. We took it home and sliced it up, put it into tiny boxes that you can get from any party supply shop, and posted pieces of cake to all the friends and family that we were unable to invite to the wedding.

Yeah, i hate fruit cake too, but this is the traditional way, and really the only way of guaranteeing that the slices arrive in an edible condition, despite the best efforts of the Royal Mail!
Old 27th March 2001, 23:47

I attended my sisters wedding last may, it was held in the north of scotland

i was impressed with the presentation of the meal

the guests were presented with a menu and was asked by waitresses what their choose was:

example

juice
tomato soup
scotch broth

roast beef and yorkshire pudding with roast potatoes and mixed vegetables
roast chicken with mushroom sauce, potatoes and vegetables
salad: Ham, egg, lettuce, tomatoe, cucumber etc. etc
or Chicken, egg, lettuce, etc etc.

strawberry shortcake
sherry triffle

tea or coffe
traditional fruit wedding cake or sponge layered cake