Go Back   Scotland Discussion Forum > Culture > Clans

Notices

Questionnare for Scottish men!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30th May 2013, 10:42

Question Questionnare for Scottish men!

Hi!
I am from Finland and I am a visiting student in the University of Edinburgh. We are doing a little project about kilts and clans in Scotland and we would like to have some statistics on the use of kilts and on people's opinions on kilts. We are doing interviews in the streets of Edinburgh, but it would be great if some men living in Scotland could answer a few questions in here, too.

1. How long have you lived in Scotland?
2. Do you consider yourself belonging to a clan?
3. Have you got a kilt?
- IF YES: In what kinds of events/occasions have you worn it?
- IF NO: Have you ever worn one?
4. How would you describe the kilt? Is it, for example, a formal or informal outfit, a national symbol, a fashion statement?
5. What is your opinion on the kilt nowadays being a commercial product? (Meaning that it is now being sold, for example, for tourists as a souvenir?

Thank you!
Old 30th May 2013, 14:21

1. 42 years
2. no
3. not any more...got one for my bothers wedding years ago...dont know what happened to it...only wore it once i think
4. a national symbol and an informal outfit
5. its simple profiteering and very tacky, it also belittles the people who wear them regularly as normal daily clothing.
Old 31st May 2013, 00:03

1. All my Life. 46.
2. Nope. See my post about my surname - Scots (doric) and Scandinavian languge
3. Yes. Worn very rarely, at weddings and black tie events.